Thread: Is this ebony or rosewood?

Default Is this ebony or rosewood?

This is my first post so hello from SC! I just purchased a Washburn M3SW mandolin and am a bit confused. The Washburn website list the fretboard as ebony but the Sweetwater website where I purchased the mandolin from list it as rosewood. I’m hoping y’all can help me with this from a pic. I am a guitarist who is just picking up the mandolin and from my experience this appears to be ebony. I have seen dark rosewood but never this dark. What do y’all think from this pic? I haven’t gotten it yet to see it in person. It’s supposed to be delivered tomorrow.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1453.jpeg 
Views:	148 
Size:	236.0 KB 
ID:	207726

Blog Entries

Default Re: Is this ebony or rosewood?

It sure looks like Ebony to me. According to Washburn's website specs, they are claiming Ebony as well.

https://www.washburn.com/product/m3sw/

I'm thinking Sweetwater got it wrong this time.

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MandolinChapman For This Useful Post:

Sure looks like Ebony to me. Even stained rosewood is usually a little lighter shade of black and looser grained looking, for lack of a better term.

5. The following members say thank you to Mainer73 for this post:

FWIW, might want to check the centering of your bridge. Looks a little to the treble side, altho photos can be misleading.

7. The following members say thank you to geechee for this post:

I will definitely check that out. Thank you

"Ebonized" rosewood (or other hardwood) has been around a long time. My 1946 Kay C-1 bass has a rosewood fingerboard that was originally treated to look like ebony.

Somewhere along the past 77 years it was returned to a beautiful natural rosewood. The only way I know to check whether real or fake ebony is the float test - ebony sinks. Easy enough on violin pegs and chinrests but not something I'd suggest for your mandolin fretboard.