Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Playing with too much tension.

Default Playing with too much tension.

I have been aware lately of how much physically tension I have when playing, especially faster songs, or when playing with really good people. Obviously, this limits smooth playing and even causes me to occasionally miss notes. So far reminding myself to "relax" has not done the trick.
    Was wondering if anyone has had to deal with this and, from personal experience, how you were able to overcome it?
    Just for the record, I have been playing for over 20 years, gig once or twice a week, and large quantities of tequila are not a good option. Thanks

2. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to JimKo For This Useful Post:

Default Re: Playing with too much tension.

Quote Originally Posted by JimKo View Post
    Was wondering if anyone has had to deal with this and, from personal experience, how you were able to overcome it?
    Over the years I worked on concentrating on using as little tension as possible, and focusing on just which muscles need to be used to play guitar and mandolin.

I do not use the elbow much for tremolo, mostly the fingers, some wrist, and a little bit of forearm.

Much of my right hand playing is centered on the 1st finger and thumb, using small circular motions, assisted by the wrist and forearm as needed.

As for the left hand, I'm only using as much pressure as is the bare minimum to get a clean fretted note.

Mostly it's about taking the time to consciously keep unnecessary tension out of one's playing; that in itself is something to practice.

Also, what style of music are you playing and what type of mandolin and picks?

4. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to DavidKOS For This Useful Post: