Thread: Chop chords help

Default Chop chords help

Hi all,

I recently started learning four-finger chop chords and I feel I am stuck. For context, I have a bunch of experience with guitar, but I am a beginner on the mandolin.

My issue is that I have trouble stretching my hand enough, particularly my pinky, e.g., when shaping up a G. Speed, strength, stamina... all those things I know how to gradually improve. But how do you teach your body something it does not think it can do? There's no "gradually" getting to a chop G-chord, either your fingers get there, or they don't (hope my problem is clear).

Any advice would be welcome. I know that a lot of people play happily without ever using full chop chords. I respect that, but it is important for me to learn them.

Default Re: Chop chords help

Actually, gradually stretching *is* possible.

I suggest you play it 5 frets up, as a C chord. Put your fingers down and play it slowly (not chop) to be sure each string is fretted cleanly. Take your fingers off then repeat.

When you can do this 10 times cleanly, move it down one fret to instead play a B chord. Same drill until perfect, then move down a fret.

Then down a fret to the Bb chord.

Then down to the A.

Then to Ab.

Then to G.

Then down one more fret to Gb / F#. That will stretch things just a bit farther, so going back to G will be that much more effortless.

Good luck!
    ----

Playing a funky oval-hole scroll-body mandolin, several mandolins retuned to CGDA, three CGDA-tuned Flatiron mandolas, two Flatiron mandolas tuned as octave mandolins,and a six-course 25.5" scale CGDAEB-tuned Ovation Mandophone.

Love mandola?
    Join the Mandola Social Group!

3. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Explorer For This Useful Post:

Stop the chop!
    Blog Entries