Thread: Hello from New Member!

Thumbs up Hello from New Member!

Hello all! I have been lurking here for a couple weeks and finally registered. I am very new to playing an instrument and I picked up a Gold Tone OM-800+ from Elderly, since they do setups on their instruments. I was drawn to octave mandolin from a general interest in unique folk music (big fan of Faun, Wardruna, and the like). I started off with a nice Saxon lyre but now I want to learn an instrument that can play in many different keys. Also, I enjoy all the types of music that are typically played on mandolins.

So far I'm working on sight reading and fundamentals of technique, including up and downstroke picking and strumming.

I have a mandolin coming as well, since I had some funds saved up and I'd like to have the best of both worlds.

Anyway, glad to be here and thanks for the wealth of info on these forums!

2. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Hexvaldr For This Useful Post:

Default Re: Hello from New Member!

Welcome!
    ----

Playing a funky oval-hole scroll-body mandolin, several mandolins retuned to CGDA, three CGDA-tuned Flatiron mandolas, two Flatiron mandolas tuned as octave mandolins,and a six-course 25.5" scale CGDAEB-tuned Ovation Mandophone.

Love mandola?
    Join the Mandola Social Group!

4. The following members say thank you to Explorer for this post:

you're in good company Hexvaldr, there is a lot of enthusiasm and nerdy interest in Octave mandolins ( or Octave mandolas), mandocellos, mandolas, cittern's, zouks, blarges, you got any other names for those instruments?

back in the early days of the Cafe the octave mandolin was a thing of mystery, now they have entered at least the common speech of the mandolinist, and are way more available and affordable. I'd like to believe some of the interest and discussion on this very web site promoted that trend.