Thread: Highland F Style Mandolin

Default Highland F Style Mandolin

Hi all,
    I just picked this F Style mandolin with a scroll design stating “Highland” on the headstock, but I cannot find any info about this maker. I’ve tried looking in the sound holes and cannot find any other markings indicating a model # or an origin. Is anyone familiar with this maker? I’m just looking for info to satisfy my curiosity.

This mandolin needs some work still (new strings, cleaning, and setup) and does have a crack on the face. If anyone has any tips on how to repair that I would appreciate it. Using a mirror, I see the crack goes straight through but stops where a brace is. I was thinking some Hyde glue and a clamp might be enough, but am not sure.

This is my first time posting, so hopefully I attached the photos correctly. Thanks in advance.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4122F3C4-B60F-4DC2-A3CE-0B367A65748B.jpg 
Views:	92 
Size:	751.0 KB 
ID:	204922
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	676C71EE-A4D4-4EE3-9940-13D0675699EE.jpg 
Views:	142 
Size:	699.4 KB 
ID:	204923   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	884380D8-6017-4EC0-9AC2-13C4E1643300.jpg 
Views:	132 
Size:	479.8 KB 
ID:	204924   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	8F70E531-10B5-4395-B4EE-D46FAD55A990.jpg 
Views:	136 
Size:	684.2 KB 
ID:	204925  

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	26E91E50-D542-402D-B547-8759CD53B935.jpg 
Views:	137 
Size:	644.4 KB 
ID:	204928   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	8E6492EA-F496-49C5-BD85-5D250B8F048B.jpg 
Views:	124 
Size:	804.3 KB 
ID:	204929  
    Last edited by jared.petry1; Dec-21-2022 at 10:38am.

Default Re: Highland F Style Mandolin

Looks “gold-tone-ish” on my phone (computer down) and does it feel/look like glue has already been applied to the crack? The pic suggests to me that it has.

The break looks clean. I don’t see any glue or residue in it. I’ll post a close up picture of the crack.