Thread: Transcription to tabs

Default Transcription to tabs

I'm new her and I've been playing mandolin for a few years. I have a fair understanding of theory and I generally play improve or original pieces. I can read sheet music but it takes a serious amount of effort and I need it so rarely for what I want to do that it doesn't seem like it's worth the effort for me to become proficient in it.

I'd imagine this has been asked before but I couldn't find anything when I did a search. I'm wondering whether there's any tools to easily take violin sheet music and transcribe into tablature. I just came across sheet music for a song I would really like to learn but it's very new, written for guitar, and complex so I don't imagine I would find mandolin tabs for it any time soon if ever. On top of that, it is not the style of music I would expect many mandolinists to want to play. I did however find someone who transcribed it for violin but as I mentioned above I'm not proficient in reading sheet music so it will take me alot more effort than I would like.

If anyone is interested in the particular song, it is Polyphia's "Playing God," and the sheet music can be found here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1dFC...PLAvo24Go/view

Default Re: Transcription to tabs

You could try Musescore.com I'm sure someone has already posted this tune.
    You then just export it as a mandolin tab.

You have to REALLY be careful though because at the moment MuseScore are doing Christmas offers that appear to be a good deal but often have something quite important missing. Some little detail that you actually really needed.
    (this happened to me and after two days they would only refund 7 euros, saying that I should have read the small print (!) )

It's a great app though, and maybe something that would be useful to you with classical pieces.
    Good luck.

Likes quaint instruments poul hansen's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Simon DS View Post