Thread: 1940's GIBSON f4

Default 1940's GIBSON f4

Please provide any thoughts on early '40s Gibson mandolins. Opinions seem to vary widely. Include whether you'd actually own one as well as any personal experience playing one. Thank you!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1942 F4.jpg 
Views:	111 
Size:	99.3 KB 
ID:	203465Click image for larger version. 

Name:	'42 F4.jpg 
Views:	112 
Size:	97.8 KB 
ID:	203466Click image for larger version. 

Name:	F4 back.jpg 
Views:	105 
Size:	110.2 KB 
ID:	203467
    Last edited by Matt; Sep-23-2022 at 6:00pm.

Teacher, repair person

Default Re: 1940's GIBSON f4

I spent some hours with this mandolin many years ago and thought it was very good: http://reverb.com/item/52762666-gibs...-1939-sunburst -- NFI-- I have no connection or experience with the seller.

It had a tone that was much jazzier than a typical teens or twenties model. It's the only one from that period I've spent any time with, so I don't know whether or not it can be considered typical for the period.
    Last edited by rcc56; Sep-23-2022 at 5:20pm.

3. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to rcc56 For This Useful Post:

Hi, I see it. Nice looking instrument.
    Thanks!

Teacher, repair person

It's hard to see in the pictures, but there are a couple of spots on the back where it looks like a drop or two of whiskey marked the finish. It doesn't look bad, but it's there. We could only guess what the story behind it might have been.

The back also has quite a striking figure, which also is not easy to see in the pictures.
    I put a set of modern frets into it when it belonged to Norman. If it hasn't been fooled with since then, it should play well.

the one I'm interested in is picture above. it has quite a bit more bling, what I would term as more in following the F4 tradition vs. F2. It's also a tad less expensive. Unfortunately I can't play it in advance. Whiskey relic-ing is good added value!

Full Grown and Cussin' brunello97's Avatar