Thread: New player: a lot of pain in the knuckle of my left hand

Default New player: a lot of pain in the knuckle of my left hand

Hey folks. I've been playing mandolin for less than two months now, however I've had to put it down for awhile due to having a lot of pain in my left hand. I am using the proper fingering position here on the left:

https://i.imgur.com/I5axuln.jpg

I also make sure that my wrist is straight and that my fingers curl over the fret board with my thumb on top to create a bit of leverage. Here is the reference I used (also worth noting that David's intro series is fantastic and I've been having a lot of fun with it):

https://youtu.be/DvDDGN1h36s?t=578

However, I can barely play 5 minutes without extreme pain in the knuckle under my left index finger. Here is a photo of another player who looks to have had the same pain area:

https://i.imgur.com/05D4P0w.jpg

So my question is, should I be laying the neck of the mandolin atop of that knuckle? Is there something else going on here? I really love playing the mandolin but I feel that there has to be something wrong on my part for me to be in such pain just playing for a few minutes. Any feedback would be appreciated!

Default Re: New player: a lot of pain in the knuckle of my left hand

My first thought, if you’re hurting at any time it’s not right, I’d take a break and let my hand rest for a week, my next thought if you already haven’t, is to change to a set of light strings that would be easier for your fingers to fret and not strain the joint. Another thing you might try, when I was having some pain in my hand I started soaking my hand in warm water before I’d start playing, it really would help to loosen the joints up.

Quote Originally Posted by 707erich View Post