Thread: Mandolin vs Guitar - Do you agree?

small instrument, big fun Dan in NH's Avatar

Default Mandolin vs Guitar - Do you agree?

So I've been playing mandolin for the last six months, swapping back and forth between that and my guitar. And I've come to some conclusions:

Playing mandolin is easier than playing guitar, but sounding good while playing is easier on guitar than on mandolin.

I find that when my tone is suffering on mandolin, it's because I'm not fingering the note close enough to the fret.

When I'm having a "bad tone day," I can usually fix it by running scales.
    Eastman MD-514 (F body, Sitka & maple, oval hole)
    Klos Carbon Fiber (on order)

And still saving my nickels & dimes & bottle caps & breakfast cereal box tops for my lifetime mandolin.

Gibson F5L Gibson A5L
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Mandolin vs Guitar - Do you agree?

Well ... Perhaps playing an instrument tuned entirely in fifths is a bit more natural because if it works here it works it will work elsewhere. Meaning scale patterns arpeggios and pentatonic scales have the same form / pattern wherever you start them ascending or descending. No 1/2 step off B string makes a world of difference. Finger placement is "the thing" on a string instrument. Tone and timing ..... Running scales and their children ie. arpeggios and five tone not only make your playing better tonally but are the pathways to open improvisation. Sounding better on guitar than mandolin ... who knows. I do enjoy playing both. Take your time and enjoy the process. Be careful though, adding a mandolin to your stable is a gateway to fiddling...... then you are well and truly lost in the strings.
    I love hanging out with mandolin nerds . . . . . Thanks peeps ...

My friend the late mandolin virtuoso Eddie Connors once told me "Mike, the guitar will give you something. On the mandolin you need to reach and take it."

I pretty much believe that.
    "It's comparable to playing a cheese slicer."
    --M. Stillion