Thread: Major scales? why different ways?

Default Major scales? why different ways?

Im new to this forum also just got my new mandolin few days ago a total beginner. I really liked that the instrument can be a very good for solo and rhythm or both as well. I mostly played flutes,fifes,recorders and my last string instrument I have casually played a guitar was 10 years ago. I started right away to learn the major scales and download some images of C scale of mandolin from internet and been practicing for many days only to find out that my C scale strings and fingerings was kinda cumbersome and spread which would reach 10th or 12 strings something.
    I then download again a C major scale from internet but this time the fingering were very tight what I mean was more accessible if I tried to play fast melodic passages. I noticed there are many ways to do a simple c major scales and many fingering options which makes me confused not like flute where fingering is fixed. What major scales strings and fingerings is standard? do they have one? which can be used for playing classical pieces thank you for the help in advance.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Major scales? why different ways?

I, and many others, started our mandolin madness using notes selected from the first 6 or 7 frets plus open strings. This is generally called "open position". With those fingerings, you can make any scale. More advanced players will use fingerings farther up the neck when they find it necessary or convenient. I still primarily use open position, but have been known to go up the neck every once in a while. I know the lower frets. I have to figure out the higher frets. So I have some work to do.

- - - Updated - - -

Oh, and welcome to the Cafe. Come check out our Newbies social group (see link below).
    New to mando? Click this link -->Newbies to join us at the Newbies Social Group.