Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ready to upgrade mandolin - need advice!

Default Ready to upgrade mandolin - need advice!

I’ve been playing a Fender fm-52e for at least 15 years now. I’m finally finding time to play daily and I’d like to upgrade. The Fender is ok and it has served me well, but I’m ready for a big upgrade.

I’m looking to spend about $1000, but I can increase that budget if needed. There are not a lot of options around here to go and try out a variety of mandolins so I’m slightly buying blind.

I thought I wanted an Eastman mandolin because I’m coming from a violin background and the neck seemed more similar, but I’ve been playing the Fender for a long time and the neck on it seems more similar to a Kentucky.

My wish list:
    Probably a style because I can get more mandolin for my money

A satin finish is preferred. I just don’t like the look of a glossy instrument.

I want a pickup, but I’m ok with having that added later.

I want a quality instrument that will last me for many years. I’m ok with used if I can get more for my money.

Any help would be appreciated. I hate doing this blindly, but I have small children so I’m B probably not driving 5+ hours to try out a variety of mandolins.

Default Re: Ready to upgrade mandolin - need advice!

I have a Collings and and an 505 A Style Eastman. I think with a buyers trial, Eastman’s new or used are very good value for the money. You can get one used, install a K&K pickup for $200 and stay under $1000

Worlds ok-ist mando playr Zach Wilson's Avatar

If your not in need of an Arch top F hole mandolin you could look at Flat tops where $1000 gets you about as good as they get. Redline, Sawchyn, Big Muddy, Crystal Forest, Red Valley, Morris just to name a few.

Hi Stephanie. Welcome to the Cafe and Forum!