Thread: Eastman 305 vs Kentucky KM 250, improver reviews

Default Eastman 305 vs Kentucky KM 250, improver reviews

Hi: thought I might post some first thoughts on a comparison between these two mandolins. They're pretty direct competitors for the 'first decent mandolin' rosette, so a lot of mando beginners/improvers like myself will be comparing them as possible buys. I now have one of each - I live between two houses, so that's one for each address so I don't need to lug one about like I was doing. Although I'm a beginner mando player, I've played a selection of other instruments including violin/fiddle for many years, and always taken an interest in getting the best sound I can afford. So far as I know, these two are both Chinese made, all solid carved wood A style f hole mandolins, strung with the same standard D'Addario phosphor bronze 10-40s.

Appearance: Eastman had gone for the 'funky' look with plain woods and low gloss thin looking brown finish, front edge binding only. Kentucky looks more mainstream, with full body and fingerboard binding, and (on mine at least) a small bit of flame to the back wood, and a glossy brown/yellow sunburst finish which thankfully doesn't look glassy thick. Both look good, but quite different.

Fittings: the Kentucky is marginally ahead here. Mine looks to have a really well fitted bridge straight out of the box, and smooth tuners that work OK. The Eastman had so- so bridge fitting and horrible stiff tuners that need replaced just as soon as you can afford it. On the other hand, Eastman has a nice cast tailpiece, while the Kentucky sports a thin stamped metal variety. You can change strings on the Eastman without having to remove a tailpiece cover. Kentucky is ahead for me on frets - the Eastman has low thin ones that appear to be wearing quickly (important for someone like me who doesn't yet always fret accurately). The Kentucky feels a little lighter, both are well balanced.