Thread: New mandolin question. (eastman, the loar, richwood)

Default New mandolin question. (eastman, the loar, richwood)

Hello everyone, long-time guitar player here, interested in picking up the mandolin. I have been searching the forum and learned a lot in the past few weeks. However, as a complete beginner, I am afraid of making a bad choice.

The most recommended starter mandolins (but still decent) seem to be the Eastman 305 and the Kentucky km-150. I really like the look of the eastmans (304/305) but I don't have the chance to try them. They would come at at least 600€.

I am located in Europe and I have come across this mandolin from Richwood Guitars.
    https://richwoodguitars.com/products...pruce-top.html
    It seems pretty good on paper but it is hard to find more information or user reviews. This would cost about 450€

Since my budget is pretty limited, I am also considering The Loar lm-110 honey creek. I can get it as b stock from Thomann for 200€ and save a lot, which makes sense since I never owned a mandolin before. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Default Re: New mandolin question. (eastman, the loar, richwood)

The Richwood looks good, especially since it comes with a luthier set-up. Otherwise, sight-unseen, I'd tell you to go with the Eastman.

I'd be worried that the "The Loar" might discourage you, esecially if it is not set-up properly.
    Chris Cravens

Girouard A5
    Montana Flatiron A-Jr.
    Passernig Mandola
    Leo Posch D-18

Adrian Minarovic

I've played few of the Richwood mandolins, one of them was the model in the link the other was kind of f style with simplified scroll.
    The A was pretty much generic chinese pressed wood mandolin with filler/glue visible in the neck joint nad other tight spaces. nice looking solid wood but not carved. The plates were a bit thin, IMO, and supported by heavier tonebars so the sound suffered. I was OK for beginner but I think carved Kentucky or Eastman has greater potential.