Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: Only change ONE string at a time!!

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    14
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Only change ONE string at a time!!

    Lesson learned: DO NOT TAKE ALL STRINGS OFF AT ONCE! I learned this changing strings the first time. E string popped because of too much tension. Good thing I didn't take the other one off. So I have 7 new strings and one old now.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    This happened to me and I read on Cafe about graphite. I bought a small tube (looks like yogurt) and I put a small dab on both nut slots and bridge slots for all 8 strings everytime I change strings!!

  3. #3

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    I change strings ONE PAIR at a time.
    Maintains "enough" tension and offers a little more "working room".

  4. #4

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    Casual player: yes, change one pair, or single strings, at a time. This minimizes your risk of changing the bridge position or action accidentally.

    But let's face it, it's a mandolin. If it's been long enough to change strings, it's been long enough that you probably should check bridge position and action.

    I think I learned from John Hamlett to take off all the strings, then string up just the lowest G and highest E. This lets you dial in the action and bridge placement easily without stressing about scuffing the top or tearing up your hands trying to get the thumbwheels to work. Once those two strings are dialed in, everything else just falls into place.

  5. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Marty Jacobson For This Useful Post:


  6. #5
    Registered User John Bertotti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    SD
    Posts
    3,342

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    I take them all off sometimes and sometimes I don’t. I generally start with the lowest pair of I don’t and if I do I put them all on and snug but not tune, then sneak them all up to pitch. Since I started doing that I haven’t had a string break while changing them all at once. Not sure why it made a difference but suspect it was just giving the strings a bit more time to stretch without to much stress.
    My avatar is of my OldWave Oval A

    Creativity is just doing something wierd and finding out others like it.

  7. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    14
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    Thanks for the feedback friends. Very helpful!!

  8. #7
    Teacher, luthier
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Southeast Tennessee
    Posts
    2,479

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    I generally take all the strings off the treble side first, replace them, then repeat with the bass side.
    I don't like to take all the strings off unless it's necessary to execute a repair.

  9. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    What?
    You're supposed to change strings?!

  10. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    High Peak - UK
    Posts
    3,278

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    Quote Originally Posted by chavez View Post
    What?
    You're supposed to change strings?!
    Only when you’ve smeared them with the remains of a deep fried Mars Bar!

  11. #10
    Registered User Frankdolin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    near Boston, MA
    Posts
    631

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    Quote Originally Posted by chavez View Post
    What?
    You're supposed to change strings?!
    The broken ones.

  12. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    High Peak - UK
    Posts
    3,278

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    The sound of an old unwound string compared to a new shiny one is usually indistinguishable - its the wound ones which go off. So, unless the old E string is physically shot or corroded, I wouldn’t worry about it.

  13. #12

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    So when do you clean the fretboard?

  14. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,192

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    People change strings on their mandolins?

  15. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    High Peak - UK
    Posts
    3,278

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Joed View Post
    So when do you clean the fretboard?
    Whenever I think it needs it - which isn’t very often. Cleaning/oiling fretboards is somewhat over-rated. Blow off the dust and slide an e-cloth under the strings once in a while.

  16. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Joed View Post
    So when do you clean the fretboard?
    It's a good idea to clean your fretboard every time you grease your truss rod bearings.

  17. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Roman Kuznetsov For This Useful Post:


  18. #16

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    Sometimes they all must be removed, sometimes not. Either way I like to start on the outside and work my way in. One string at a time. G E G E D A D A. If you had to remove them all check the 12th fret octave after the first two (G E).

  19. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Southern Maine
    Posts
    178

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    Quote Originally Posted by chavez View Post
    It's a good idea to clean your fretboard every time you grease your truss rod bearings.
    Girouard A
    Silverangel A
    Eastman 615

  20. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    S.W. Wisconsin
    Posts
    6,245

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    Quote Originally Posted by chavez View Post
    It's a good idea to clean your fretboard every time you grease your truss rod bearings.
    I play a lot of outside gigs in hot humid weather, do I need marine grease?
    THE WORLD IS A BETTER PLACE JUST FOR YOUR SMILE!

  21. The following members say thank you to pops1 for this post:


  22. #19
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Va
    Posts
    2,499

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    I grease my truss rod bearings every 10,000 notes. Does a fingerboard need oiling that often??

  23. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    High Peak - UK
    Posts
    3,278

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    A luthier frield of mine told me he had to replace the fingerboard on one guitar which was rotting away because the owner religiously oiled it every time he canged his strings. I oil mine when they need it. I bought a Martin D18 in 1973 and it’s still waiting. As I said - over-rated!

  24. #21
    Barn Cat Mandolins Bob Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Beautiful Salem County, NJ
    Posts
    1,885

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Ray(T) View Post
    As I said - over-rated!
    Amen Brother!
    Purr more, hiss less. Barn Cat Mandolins Photo Album

  25. #22

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    Quote Originally Posted by pops1 View Post
    I play a lot of outside gigs in hot humid weather, do I need marine grease?
    Just flush the harmonic compensator fluid every once in a while. I only charge $200 to do that.

  26. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Marty Jacobson For This Useful Post:


  27. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    S.W. Wisconsin
    Posts
    6,245

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Marty Jacobson View Post
    Just flush the harmonic compensator fluid every once in a while. I only charge $200 to do that.
    I did that last year, it's not a bad job, but the fluid is very hard to get and really expensive.
    THE WORLD IS A BETTER PLACE JUST FOR YOUR SMILE!

  28. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pops1 For This Useful Post:


  29. #24
    Mando accumulator allenhopkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rochester NY 14610
    Posts
    16,836

    Default Re: Only change ONE string at a time!!

    Usually remove all the strings, so I can clean and polish the body of the mandolin, and de-gunk the fretboard with a microfiber cloth.

    Replace the bridge using the well-defined "footprints" on the top, and put the strings as suggested in Marty's Post #4 above. Don't raise the "outside" G and E strings to concert pitch, just enough tension to hold the bridge in place firmly. Always put the bass strings on first, so that they can apply the needed tension, compressing the top down, and not risk the more fragile unwound strings.

    That's how I do it. Think I've only broken one string over all the years of restringing. I'm not a particularly "responsible" restringer, usually waiting until the current strings are unacceptably "dead," or don't seem to note accurately. I should do better, but heck, so many mandolins, so little time...
    Allen Hopkins
    Gibsn: '54 F5 3pt F2 A-N Custm K1 m'cello
    Natl Triolian Dobro mando
    Victoria b-back Merrill alumnm b-back
    H-O mandolinetto
    Stradolin Vega banjolin
    Sobell'dola Washburn b-back'dola
    Eastmn: 615'dola 805 m'cello
    Flatiron 3K OM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •