Thread: Pick orientation to strings

Default Pick orientation to strings

I’m a newbie, coming from the guitar camp. On guitar I angle the pick upwards (Hendrix, Benson, Santana), while most players angle downwards. It seems most mandolin players angle downwards too. One of the benefits I find is its more conducive to using forearm rotation when strumming. I’m thinking I will need the bevel on the other side of the pick (left handed?). Does Anyone have any insights to share?

Default Re: Pick orientation to strings

John Reischman holds his pick as you're describing, and yes, if you buy a beveled pick, you'll want a left hand bevel.
    Soliver arm rested and Tone-Garded Northfield Model M with D’Addario NB 11.5-41, picked with a Wegen Bluegrass 1.4

You may have to alter your technique from guitar. Tutorials from Marshall and Thile are excellent starting points

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X7vqNh5k96o

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IdhVC0DzfFY

also one of my favorites, 5 top players side by side https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hTJJdlswFPE
    Kentucky km900
    Yamaha piano, clarinet, violin; generic cello;
    a pedal steel (highly recommended); banjo, dobro don't get played much cause i'm considerate ;}

Shopping/monitoring prices: vibraphone/marimbas, rhodes, synths, Yamaha brass and double reeds

Does mandolin pick orientation largely result from the angle of the forearm to the instrument? I see photos of some bowlback and classical players whose forearms run more or less straight up the instrument, and some folk and country players whose forearm is at quite an angle to it.

I'm not a classical player and my forearm ,wrist and hand run pretty much parallel to the mandolin,and my pick is perpendicular to the strings,,

In the case of Hendrix, with the guitar strung "upside down" wouldn't his pick angle be considered a forward or downward angle?

Another probably silly question, if angling the pick upwards do to a double jointed "hitchhiker thumb"?