Thread: Stewmac router binding jig - experiences anyone?

Question Stewmac router binding jig - experiences anyone?

Has anyone had experience a with the Stewmac router binding jig?. I want to use it for a range of instruments mainly flatop instruments like ukeleles, Irish Bouzoukis, spanish guitars, and arch topped instruments.

I think it was designed by Don McCrostie.

Will it fit a Makita 700 C router laminate trimmer?

Thanks in advance for your input.
    Nic Gellie

Default Re: Stewmac router binding jig - experiences anyone?

Nick, I have no experience with the Stewmac jig but I made one which works in the same way, and works great. Cost about £10 to make using ply scraps and 2 drawer runners. Btw, on the other end of the pulley is a bag of lead fishing weights to counterbalance the router.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1040189.jpg 
Views:	138 
Size:	352.3 KB 
ID:	190100Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1040190.jpg 
Views:	159 
Size:	770.6 KB 
ID:	190101Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1040192.jpg 
Views:	126 
Size:	365.7 KB 
ID:	190102
    I have used it for several instruments and even my first F5, I had to stop just before the scroll and finish by hand.

Name:	P1040245.jpg 
Views:	130 
Size:	323.5 KB 
ID:	190103Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1040250.jpg 
Views:	139 
Size:	552.5 KB 
ID:	190104Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1040253.jpg 
Views:	126 
Size:	565.3 KB 
ID:	190105
    Mike

Lovely piece of kit Mikey. Thanks for showing it to me. Does the router ride and up down its mount rather than site in one position? I have seen Andy Tobin's jig does that.
    Nic Gellie

Here he is using a POF52 Bosch trimmer riding straight on the edge of the instrument:

https://mandolincafe.com/forum/threa...ld-Diary/page2
    Nic Gellie

Quote Originally Posted by Nick Gellie View Post