Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How to remember tunes?

Default How to remember tunes?

Hi all,

I have been playing only 4 months. I practice every day and I cycle through the same fiddle tunes over and over. I am improving every day and having a blast. However, all the tunes that I play are from tabs. No matter how many times I play the tune over and over I still can not remember one single tune completely. My question is, How do you all remember songs? How long does it take you all to remember a song? I have no musical background but I’m always improving and I wonder, is the art of remembering a tune a talent/gift or can it be learned?

Thank you, Doug

Default Re: How to remember tunes?

I've found that listening to music is as important as playing, and it helps not to set my sights too high.

3. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to dan in va For This Useful Post:

Try practicing a few measures at a time without the music in front of you. Once you can play those measures without referring to the sheet music , add a few more until you can play the whole tune from memory.

5. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Brian560 For This Useful Post:

Pittsburgh Bill
    Blog Entries

I, too, have a hard time remembering tunes. I have used all the methods I have previously read about in this forum and they have helped, but I still find it more difficult than I think it should be. I do recommend searching through the Cafe for tips for remembering tunes.
    Once I have memorized or almost memorized a tune I put it on a list with the following; TITLE KEY 1ST TWO MEASURES WITH WORDS /NOTES. When preparing a set list I can pull the tunes I want and print out a list with the info. Not full proof but I don't go blank as often.
    I do envy those with the talent and memory to be like an encyclopedia of tunes.
    Big Muddy EM8 solid body (Mike Dulak's final EM8 build)
    Kentucky KM-950
    Weber Gallatin A Mandola "D hole"