Thread: Help: How To Improve Picking Accuracy

Question Help: How To Improve Picking Accuracy

I’m experiencing an issue with picking accuracy that I would appreciate some advice on.

I’ve been playing mandolin for a couple months and trying to pick cleanly is the main thing that’s holding me back. I often brush against adjacent strings, sometimes I’ll even pluck the wrong string entirely. I’m sure most players also experience this, but picking accuracy accounts for the vast majority of my mistakes.

My main interest is Irish/Celtic tunes. I’m not taking lessons, but I’m trying my best to develop proper technique by soaking up resources like mandolin YouTube channels. I’ve been playing guitar for years before picking up the mandolin so the learning curve hasn’t been too steep.

I have experimented with pick sizes/thickness (currently I’ve settled on a larger Dunlop triangle pick that’s rather thin) and I have also tried various arm positions.

I don’t think I’m playing too fast. I have been using a metronome to slowly gain speed. I also don’t think this is an issue with picking patterns. I have DUDU down solid, and I’m currently working on DUD DUD.

If anyone has any suggestions it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

PS I had a similar problem with guitar when using a pick. However it wasn't much of an issue because I usually liked to use my fingers instead.

2. The following members say thank you to MandolinSnow for this post:

Default Re: Help: How To Improve Picking Accuracy

Quote Originally Posted by MandolinSnow View Post
    I often brush against adjacent strings, sometimes I’ll even pluck the wrong string entirely. I’m sure most players also experience this, but picking accuracy accounts for the vast majority of my mistakes.
    I think you just need practice. Repetition over and over of the correct movement. In that respect, it will take time.