Thread: Tailpiece broke

Default Tailpiece broke

Hi. I have an Eastman MD505 and it looks like one of the little string hooks on the tail piece broke off.

I'm a beginner and certainly no luthier, but I'm a pretty handy guy. It looks to me that I just need to order a replacement part, take off the old strings, remove 3 screws, replace with the new tail piece, restring, and go.

Am I missing something? Is there more to it than that? Any things I should beware of? Is this an opportunity to upgrade the tail piece? Should I take it to a professional repair guy?

All advice welcome and appreciated.

Default Re: Tailpiece broke

Quote Originally Posted by rabbimatt View Post
    Hi. I have an Eastman MD505 and it looks like one of the little string hooks on the tail piece broke off.
    All advice welcome and appreciated.
    Also get some green lo-tack painters masking tape (or regular masking tape that you have stuck to your jeans a few times first, just so it doesn't tear up your finish) and tape your (bottom) bridge and (top) saddle down altogether. This is so your bridge doesn't fall right off when you take the strings off. You can also run two pieces of tape on the mandolin top on either side of the bridge base to know exactly where it was (if it does happen to get shifted) Then you can go ahead and replace the tailpiece with the same kind or an upgraded one like you described.
    But Amsterdam was always good for grieving
    And London never fails to leave me blue
    And Paris never was my kinda town
    So I walked around with the Ft. Worth Blues

I would contact Eastman. If you’re the original owner I would think it’s under warranty. If not, I would still try to get one from them. I honestly like the Eastman tailpiece and think it’s a pretty good design.