Thread: advice on purchasing a Mandolin

Default advice on purchasing a Mandolin

I am just getting started and I have a Loar. I bought it used for $200 and I think I got a good deal. I really enjoy playing it. I'd like to get a nicer instrument. When looking at brands what should I look for? I'd like something that will last and could be an heirloom for my kids. What brand and model would you folks suggest in the $1500 range? Thanks

My Florida is scooped pheffernan's Avatar

Default Re: advice on purchasing a Mandolin

I once sold a fine Collings MT for $1500, a Silverangel A5 for less. You don’t say what type of music you play or what kind of mandolin, but I’d be looking for a used instrument built of solid woods. If you are drawn to the F-style, you might consider something like this Ratliff:

https://www.mandolincafe.com/ads/159323#159323

However, if you are open to an oval, you could enjoy something that will last and an heirloom for yourself (and kids) with a vintage Gibson:

https://www.mandolincafe.com/ads/159030#159030
    1924 Gibson A Snakehead
    2005 National RM-1
    2007 Hester A5
    2009 Passernig A5
    2015 Black A2-z
    2010 Black GBOM
    2017 Poe Scout
    2014 Smart F-Style Mandola
    2018 Vessel TM5
    2019 Hogan F5

Blog Entries

I am a big fan of Bruce Weber's mandolins. If you are patient, you can probably find a used Weber Bitterroot or Gallatin in good shape for that price. You might have to do a little bit of bargaining. Or if you like a brighter sound, maybe a Collings MT. I suspect this is a good time to be a buyer, so don't be afraid to make offers below the asking price. In any case, the $1500 range has lots of good ones, some with well known names, some with lesser known names. And in that range, be sure to try before you buy or at least get a no questions asked return and refund commitment.
    New to mando? Click this link -->Newbies to join us at the Newbies Social Group.