Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Block in-lays.

  1. #1
    Registered User Joey Anchors's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    950

    Default Block in-lays.

    Is it possible to install block inlays on an already fretted mandolin?

    (Mando in question is a gorgeous Waterloo WL-M that I would love to add block inlays to the 5, 7, and 10th frets)
    2020 Waterloo WL-M “SOL”
    2006 Draleon Royale - “Claudia”
    Pyramid - flatwounds


    Blues Mando Social Group - member

  2. #2
    Registered User William Smith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Sugar Grove,PA
    Posts
    2,911
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Block in-lays.

    Yes it is, I love me some pearl blocks and have them on some of my old Gibson's!

  3. The following members say thank you to William Smith for this post:


  4. #3
    Registered User William Smith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Sugar Grove,PA
    Posts
    2,911
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Block in-lays.

    Is yours a flat fret board-that's easy radius not so much! If so add them like the old Gibson F-5's? Some started on the first fret-others the 3rd! I love the look of my 34 F-5 Fern with blocks and my 24 Gibson Tenor Lute to Mandola conversion-blocks are just sweeeeet!

  5. #4
    Registered User Joey Anchors's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    950

    Default Re: Block in-lays.

    Quote Originally Posted by William Smith View Post
    Is yours a flat fret board-that's easy radius not so much! If so add them like the old Gibson F-5's? Some started on the first fret-others the 3rd! I love the look of my 34 F-5 Fern with blocks and my 24 Gibson Tenor Lute to Mandola conversion-blocks are just sweeeeet!
    William, glad to hear it’s possible. The Waterloo has a radius fretboard. I too love block inlays!
    Last edited by Joey Anchors; Jul-05-2020 at 2:42pm.
    2020 Waterloo WL-M “SOL”
    2006 Draleon Royale - “Claudia”
    Pyramid - flatwounds


    Blues Mando Social Group - member

  6. #5
    Registered User William Smith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Sugar Grove,PA
    Posts
    2,911
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Block in-lays.

    Quote Originally Posted by Joey Anchors View Post
    William, glad to hear it’s possible. The Waterloo has a radius fretboard. I too love block inlays!
    Well it can be done but if your not experienced I'd have someone else do it!!!!

  7. The following members say thank you to William Smith for this post:


  8. #6
    Certified! Bernie Daniel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    8,259
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Block in-lays.

    Quote Originally Posted by Joey Anchors View Post
    William, glad to hear it’s possible. The Waterloo has a radius fretboard. I too love block inlays!
    I think that it would be tricky to inlay blocks on an already radiused fret board. In the past I have added a 10" radius to a flat board which already had block inlays and that was another set of problems! But it was do able.

    If I were to want to add block inlays to an already radiused board I think I might consider first inlaying your blocks of MOP into piece of hard wood that is shaped like a fret board (i.e. make a dummy fret board) then sand that to the radius of the mandolin board.

    This would put the required radius on the blocks of inlay. Then when you get to inlaying them on the mandolin board only a little sanding would have to be done on them to get it cleaned up? In theory that should work I think anyway.
    Bernie
    ____
    Due to current budgetary restrictions the light at the end of the tunnel has been turned off -- sorry about the inconvenience.

  9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Bernie Daniel For This Useful Post:


  10. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    S.W. Wisconsin
    Posts
    5,648

    Default Re: Block in-lays.

    A lot would depend on the radius and the thickness of the pearl blocks. You would have a better chance with a slight radius and thicker blocks.
    THE WORLD IS A BETTER PLACE JUST FOR YOUR SMILE!

  11. #8
    Registered User sunburst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    14,717

    Default Re: Block in-lays.

    "Possible", yes, but so difficult to do with good results that it is questionable whether it is practical.

  12. The following members say thank you to sunburst for this post:


  13. #9

    Default Re: Block in-lays.

    If I was to do it, I would remove the frets first. Then replace them with some EVO Gold frets for a real nice look. If you have the chops.
    Richard Hutchings

  14. The following members say thank you to Dick Hutchings for this post:


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •