Thread: Washburn Americana M3SWE

Default Washburn Americana M3SWE

Has anyone with some experience played a Washburn Americana M3SWE? I know Sweetwater isn't Mandolin Mecca, but that's the only place where I've seen reviews, yet they're all from guitar players. Yes, I'm a transitioning guitarist, but I want to know if it's a decent mandolin. Looking for an electric in that price range without having to wait months for someone to install a PU in an MD305 or something similar.

Pittsburgh Bill
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Washburn Americana M3SWE

$849.00 ! Coming from a shop that isn't likely to do a set-up on a mandolin with less than stellar reputation! The cost of a set-up by a luthier is likely cost between $35 and $125.00 depending upon what it needs sounds costly. Then when you want to upgrade you will have a mandolin that will not easily be resold.
    Cruise the classifieds here on the Cafe looking for something used that will take your dollar a lot further. If you get an A style with F holes your dollar will get you much more mandolin for the money. (A and F style mandolins have no tonal difference for equal mandolins)
    I have bought and sold several mandolins via these classifieds with no disappointments. I always buy or sell with a 48 hour trial period with the buyer paying postage both ways if not satisfied.
    I am sorry no one gave me this information on my first two mandolins.
    Just my humble opinion!
    Big Muddy EM8 solid body (Mike Dulak's final EM8 build)
    Kentucky KM-950
    Weber Gallatin A Mandola "D hole"
    Rogue 100A (current campfire tool & emergency canoe paddle)

Dave Sheets