Thread: Gibson F5

Default Gibson F5

I took the next step in my mandolin journey a couple of weeks ago. I've played music for decades but have only "played" mandolin for about 6 or 8 months. My first mandolin was a Gibson Army & Navy reissue that I posted about here on MC back in the fall.

Ever since I saw "Bill Monroe: The Father of Bluegrass" on PBS back in 1994 or 1995 I have loved the look of a well-worn F-style. I had been eyeballing this one online for a few months but the seller and I live about a 4 hour drive apart and his asking price was a bit more than I wanted to spend so I kept putting it out of my mind. Then, a couple of weeks ago on a whim, I sent him a trade offer and within a few hours we hatched a plan to meet just off the highway halfway between us that upcoming weekend and the deal was done.

Now, I've read all the reviews and according to what I've read in online forums: early 70s Gibson mandolins are to be avoided at all costs and are best used as fungo bats or to put out a campfire. But, as a move-up mandolin, I love this thing. It's nice to look at and it plays beautifully. It's had some work done. ie. Radiused fretboard, herringbone binding, and it's been stripped and then hand polished to give it that broken in look. It also came with the original case and a Tone Guard. I don't have enough experience yet to know if it's my forever mandolin, but it's certainly scratching my 3-chord itch in the meantime.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_5542.jpg 
Views:	204 
Size:	1.37 MB 
ID:	185657
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_5517.jpg 
Views:	240 
Size:	718.3 KB 
ID:	185658Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_5518.jpg 
Views:	191 
Size:	595.9 KB 
ID:	185659

2. The following members say thank you to Lo-Fi for this post:

Default Re: Gibson F5

Nice. Enjoy it!

1. I'd say a Gibson F-5 is worth relaxing social distance guidelines for.