Thread: Mandolins outside

Default Mandolins outside

Spring is slowly arriving in my area. We had a couple nice days, and a lot of terrible ones still, but will get nice eventually. I’ve been thinking about taking my mandolin to play outside. I’m a newbie, so not sure how much my neighbors will like that idea I’m guessing a mandolin would be sensitive to extreme conditions. I’ve heard the 24hr acclimation time on shipped instruments to prevent “finish checking” or something, not too sure what that is about. Is there a minimum/maximum temperature and humidity level? I only have 1 mandolin and like it a lot, so don’t want to damage it.

Default Re: Mandolins outside

The most useful rule is that the instrument will be comfortable anywhere you are comfortable. If it is too hot, cold or wet for you to go out in normal street clothes then it is probably not good for your instrument. The other is do not leave it inside a hot car or a closed car on a hot day.

3. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to CarlM For This Useful Post:

your finish may be sensitive to things like DEET and sun tan lotion, so be careful if you're using those sorts of products. and don't leave your case outside in the sun with the instrument inside it. just a couple things i thought of.
    --------------------------------
    1920 Lyon & Healy bowlback
    1923 Gibson A-1 snakehead
    1952 Strad-o-lin
    1983 Giannini ABSM1 bandolim
    2009 Giannini GBSM3 bandolim
    2011 Eastman MD305

5. The following members say thank you to Randi Gormley for this post:

CarlM