Thread: Octave Mandolin suggestions please

Default Octave Mandolin suggestions please

New guy here , but old guy. I have been playing guitar, banjo, steel guitar for over 50 years but just got interested in mandolin. I am interested in getting an octave mandolin and find both Gold Tone and Eastman at about the same price. Anyone have experience with both and which one would they recommend. I am leaning towards the Eastman as I have owned a few Eastman archtops and thought they were great guitars for the money. Thanks in advance for any info/recommendations.

Default Re: Octave Mandolin suggestions please

In general, the Eastmans have a little better rep on the forum, it seems. Arched top F holes (Eastman) vs flat top oval hole (GT), iirc, should factor in as well. I prefer the arch top f hole focus personally, but there are many that I’m sure will disagree with me. My current OM is a 20 inch scale Weber Bitteroot, which is another level in pricing, but more similar in construction to the Eastman. I’ve owned an Eastman 315 mando and still own a GT “Cripple Creek” open back entry level banjo. I was more impressed with the quality of the 315, which I bought as a beater but sold in a downsize move last year. I rarely play banjo (my wife, in general, finds a banjo grating, so it doesn’t get a lot of play), so the GT serves the purpose of being available for me when the fancy strikes, but if I ever really get into it, I’ll move up that food chain quickly.

That said, GT does produce some nice instruments, don’t mean to knock them at all. Trinity College may be another brand to consider, more similar to the GT than the Eastman. OM is fun, but I’m more proficient on mandolin and guitar, and I sometimes wonder why I don’t just play one of those. But, there are times when that OM tone is just right, and just different enough to work (cuz there are plenty of guitar pickers out there)...

My Florida is scooped pheffernan's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by larryl View Post