Thread: Which of these two Mandolins would be better?

Default Which of these two Mandolins would be better?

Hi, I'm looking to buy my first mandolin. I'm a fairly experienced guitar player and this would be my second instrument. I don't want to pend too much as I'm a student, and so long as it's playable and holds its tune I'll be happy. I'm currently looking at the Ozark 2001 and the Ozark 2250 models.

https://www.eaglemusicshop.com/prod/...p-mandolin.htm

The 2001 is a "Portuguese" style.

https://www.eaglemusicshop.com/prod/...tm#description

The 2250 is called an "Army" style.

Both are made in Romania and very cheap. The 2001 is all solid wood, where as the 2250 is solid top only. The 2250 is £40 more expensive. Both come with a set up.

I will mostly be playing Irish traditional and folk.

Have any members any experience with either model? Or any alternatives at a similar price point?

Question flip a coin?

One of my friends had an original army/navy war time Gibson in olive drab green.. It was nice..
    being in Oregon, I have not seen or tried either of those you linked to..

Your buying from a retailer that does pre delivery setup to each mandolin they sell is a valuable thing..

(9 timezones to the west of GMT.)
    writing about music
    is like dancing,
    about architecture

Default Re: Which of these two Mandolins would be better?

I have no experience with either of these mandolins or seller, but I would go with the army/navy copy(2250). I like the aesthetics and it’s a design that’s been around for a century or so. I wouldn’t be turned off by laminated back and sides at this price point. Honestly, if my conversion is correct(about $225 US dollars), I’d buy this just to try(If it was available in the US)and possibly add to my collection.

I have a very good viola made in Romania.

Hi.
    I have a Romanian mandolin though a different model (a Portuguese II model which has a narrower Body).