Thread: Northfield F5S Review

Blog Entries

Default Northfield F5S Review

Hi, Everyone:

I received my new Northfield F5S (Engleman) mandolin two days ago and am happy to provide a review here for our collective knowledge-base. It's a wonderful mandolin unlike any other I have owned.

First, to give some context, I should say I'm a hardcore mandolin hobbyist who has had the pleasure of owning one mandolin at a time for most of the past 20 years. I've owned everything from a "No Name" I purchased on eBay on which the "tailpiece" was four wood nails (yes, four) hammered into the body to a highly customized Weber Fern made during Weber's heyday in the late 2000s. Along the way, I have had significant playing time on maybe a dozen other mandolins, each with its own character. So, although I've played but haven't owned a Gilchrist, Nugget, or Loar, I've sampled a bunch of high quality instruments that are more affordable and am happy to have those experiences as points of comparison.

I will say, this Northfield F5S is the best sounding mandolin I've owned since that 2008 Weber Fern - the one that got away. It's fundamentally different, perhaps more of a classic Gibson sound, but the quality of the tone is outstanding. It has plenty of volume, is very balanced across the strings and up the neck, and has that echo-y, chamber sound when strumming, chopping, tremoloing, and picking single notes. There's a rich, deep fundamental character I like a whole lot. It's also maybe the easiest-playing mandolin I've owned, with a respectful nod to Pomeroy, Morris, Rigel, Breedlove, and Collings. That was the drawback with the custom Weber Fern I had. It was a tank and took a heavy hand to draw out the super tone. Not this Northfield F5S. It takes a light touch to get it's fundamental sweetness. With that said, it also chops very well, but I don't need to whip it to get that throaty, percussive chop we all love. It's a great sounding and playing instrument.