Thread: Mando flatiron buying advice.

Default Mando flatiron buying advice.

I am planning to buy a mandolin as a special gift. I have very little knowledge of mandolins and need some direction

I have parameters that I need to stick by these are as follows.
    I.have some information that I have gathered about what type of instrument the person who will receive the mandolin is interested in.

A. Flatiron mandolin F style
    B. I have no idea about the different types and what their highlights are.
    The gift is for a family member who generally plays Irish folk music as well as modern songs, I have heard him play an R.E.M track as well as Hallelujah that type of music.
    B I know he mentioned American made.
    He has had a really difficult time having had kidney failure which resulted in a transplant, during his recovery he bought and self taught from books and youtube totally amazing !
    The family have all chipped in with a max spend of £3000.
    Any help or guidance would be appreciated.
    We are in England so may be limited in access to mandolins?

My Florida is scooped pheffernan's Avatar

Default Re: Mando flatiron buying advice.

The good news is that Flatiron Festival F-styles from the Nashville era (1998-2002 or so) are frequently available within your budget. There’s one in the classifieds here currently:

https://www.mandolincafe.com/ads/152301#152301

And there’s another on Reverb:

https://reverb.com/item/31177218-gib...000-honeyburst

The challenge is that both instruments are here in the States, and I don’t know what you’d have to pay in shipping / VAT / import fees to get one there.

There is one listing from the U.K. that has been languishing in the classifieds for over two months but its asking price is well above budget:

https://www.mandolincafe.com/ads/149069#149069

Trevor at the Acoustic Music Co. in Brighton is a great resource, but I don’t see a Flatiron on his website currently:

http://www.theacousticmusicco.co.uk/