Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Requirement to login twice

  1. #1
    Mandolin tragic Graham McDonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    1,471

    Default Requirement to login twice

    I usually only login to start or reply to a discussion, but since the reboot, the forum software makes me log in twice to include a photo in my post. I am wondering this is just me

  2. The following members say thank you to Graham McDonald for this post:


  3. #2
    Timothy Tim Logan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Shutesbury, MA
    Posts
    364

    Default Re: Requirement to login twice

    I suspect it is just you. I had a somewhat similar problem so I cleared the cache and made sure my cookie status was properly set. After that the problem disappeared completely. I start the Cafe from an icon on my Iphone - it starts perfectly without needing to log-in every time.
    PS Your book is absolutely fantastic. What a treasure!!!

    “There are two means of refuge from the miseries of life: music and cats.” ― Albert Schweitzer

    1925 Lyon & Healy Model A, #1674
    2015 Phoenix Neoclassical Europa III #623
    2018 Carlo Mazzaccara Lucia
    2020 Burgin Shanghai Octave Mandolin - in progress!

  4. #3
    Moderator MikeEdgerton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    40.1646° N, 74.2083° W
    Posts
    23,858

    Default Re: Requirement to login twice

    Quote Originally Posted by Graham McDonald View Post
    I usually only login to start or reply to a discussion, but since the reboot, the forum software makes me log in twice to include a photo in my post. I am wondering this is just me
    Try clearing your cache on your browser and restarting. That resolved the problem for me on one machine. The other one still has the issue and I have not been able to run it down yet. It appears to be local to certain browsers and machines.
    "Bargain instruments are no bargains if you can't play them". These are the words of J. Garber.

  5. #4
    Teacher, luthier
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Southeast Tennessee
    Posts
    1,849

    Default Re: Requirement to login twice

    I don't know how to do that.

  6. #5
    Moderator MikeEdgerton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    40.1646° N, 74.2083° W
    Posts
    23,858

    Default Re: Requirement to login twice

    What Browser are you using? Internet Explorer, Edge, Firefox, Chrome, etc.
    "Bargain instruments are no bargains if you can't play them". These are the words of J. Garber.

  7. The following members say thank you to MikeEdgerton for this post:

    rcc56 

  8. #6
    Administrator Mandolin Cafe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1998
    Location
    Lawrence, KS
    Posts
    2,381
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default Re: Requirement to login twice

    As long as you click the "Remember Me" box under the login area you can stay logged indefinitely, even between reboots.

  9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mandolin Cafe For This Useful Post:


  10. #7
    Mandolin tragic Graham McDonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    1,471

    Default Re: Requirement to login twice

    I use Safari on a Mac. Cache cleared and thank you for your advice. I hope you are all keeping well in these interesting times.

    G

  11. #8
    Teacher, luthier
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Southeast Tennessee
    Posts
    1,849

    Default Re: Requirement to login twice

    Quote Originally Posted by MikeEdgerton View Post
    What Browser are you using? Internet Explorer, Edge, Firefox, Chrome, etc.
    I'm using Edge, and they've just made changes to it.

  12. #9
    Moderator MikeEdgerton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    40.1646° N, 74.2083° W
    Posts
    23,858

    Default Re: Requirement to login twice

    Quote Originally Posted by rcc56 View Post
    I'm using Edge, and they've just made changes to it.
    Try checking the Remember me box. If it's already checked uncheck, close the browser session and open it and check it again.

    On Edge to clear the cache look for three dots under the X in the top right hand corner. Click on them, Click on Settings, go to Privacy and Security, Find Clear Browser Data, do the dropdown and you'll see several things checked and several unchecked. I would check the first 6 and hit the clear button. Exit out of the browser and restart an Internet session and see if the problem is fixed. You may have to clear the seventh listing as well.
    "Bargain instruments are no bargains if you can't play them". These are the words of J. Garber.

  13. #10
    Teacher, luthier
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Southeast Tennessee
    Posts
    1,849

    Default Re: Requirement to login twice

    Thanks, Mike.

  14. #11
    Administrator Mandolin Cafe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1998
    Location
    Lawrence, KS
    Posts
    2,381
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default Re: Requirement to login twice

    I bumped up some settings that may help, but as Mike says, if you aren't checking the "Remember Me" box you're going to get logged off at some point. If you're browsing at home you probably don't need to ever log out. If you're reading the Forum at the public library on a shared computer, yes, you'd better log out which removes the cookie that identifies your membership privileges and ability to post.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •