Thread: proper bowlback mandolins?

Default proper bowlback mandolins?

do any of you have experience with bowlback mandolins, and first-hand experience with handmade proper ones? if so, could you please suggest some makers, that make good ones, without too much expensive visual esthetique work? which means properly built, but not much unnessecary inlays and other expensive artwork

Default Re: proper bowlback mandolins?

I have a lot of experience with bowlbacks, though my exposure to modern ones is limited to a late 20th century Suzuki (Don't get one of those), a modern Greek bowlbac (proper, but built quite differently from Italian instruments), and a late Pecoraro/Embergher, which also differs to some degree from the traditional Neapolitan examples.

It's very true that bling.excessive ornamentation can be looked at as a drawback; when little pieces fall off and get lost, it's bothersome. I'm happy to tell you that the better builders seemed to strive to make excellent instruments al all (or most) price points. I had a pair of De Megllios, one reaching the heights of ornament, the other being a considerably more restrained example. Both are excellent.

The best of the older Neapolitans were made by Calace, various members of the Vinaccia family, and a few other makers, who are not perhaps revered at the same level as the Big Three. (I include Embergher among the B3, though those do differ a bit, as mentioned.) I have a Salsedo which I value, and a Monzino; Mozzani also made fine bowlbacls, as did De Meglio. Sicilian instruments are certainly acceptable as well, though not perhaps as highly regarded. I've probably omitted a few makers whose work is also worthy of note.

Condition is the paramount concern for older instruments. Plenty of info, pictures and commentary below in the Classical section, where bolwbacks thrive.