Thread: Keyboard recommendation for a newbie

Default Keyboard recommendation for a newbie

Hi there! I hope you're doing great!
    I'm a beginner beatmaker. I've started doing this not so much time ago and now I understand, that I need to upgrade my keyboard skills. I like creating melodies very much, but I'm absolutely newbie for keyboards and pianos. Everything I know about keyboards was discovered from 2-3 youtube channels and a couple of guides. I'm certain, that I'll make beats and music all my life because I feel happy and enthusiastic when I'm in the process. I already have small midi-keyboard (friend's gift), but I want to buy a good big keyboard for practicing. If I'm not mistaken this type of keyboards called weighted, if I'm, please correct me. Any pitfalls and recommendations are welcome. What should I draw attention to?
    Thanks in advance!

Default Re: Keyboard recommendation for a newbie

Some keyboards are weighted, meaning they feel like a piano. There are many that are not. If you want to feel like you are playing a piano weighted is the way.
    THE WORLD IS A BETTER PLACE JUST FOR YOUR SMILE!

As Pops1 said, weighted keys give you the feel of a piano which is what I prefer. Each keyboard has a different feel. Too, you need to determine if you want a full 88 keyboard or something less. If you can try before you buy, that's the best way to go. If you just want to learn keyboard and working on a budget, you don't need the weighted keys. You can always upgrade later. The only thing I would be a stickler on is having full size keys for a beginner. I know there are others on here that can give much better responses but that my 2 cents worth. Most of all - enjoy the ride!
    "If your memories exceed your dreams, you have begun to die." - Anonymous

The Kurweil SP4-8 (or SP4-7, which has 76 notes) is my favourite digital piano.

That said, nothing beats the real thing.
    mando scales
    technical exercises for rock blues & fusion mandolinists