Thread: Hora Octave Mandolas

Default Hora Octave Mandolas

Has anyone played an octave mandola/mandolin by Hora of Romania? I see them advertised for as low as $195. Are they as cheaply made as the price suggests? Their scale is 22", which I hear can be uncomfortable for fingering the chords.

Default Re: Hora Octave Mandolas

I have one with electronics. Fingering the chords is the same as my tenor guitar. I am no musician but, I love the way it sounds. Sustains forever. Neat instrument between the mandolin and six string guitar.

BTW the tuners are very cheap and crappy. I would like to replace them but haven't found a suitable replacement yet.

Over all I like mine and consider it to be a great deal.

I like mine. It's well made all things considered.

Mine is hard to fret cleanly. Don't know why.
    It can be done but it's a lot of effort.

Tuners work, but they are pretty bad.

Forgive my ignorance, but what do you mean by fretting cleanly? Is that the same as chording? And what are the tuners? The keys that wind the strings?

Scale length is pretty short as octave mandolins go. You have to take a different approach to chord fingerings, if you're used to a "regular" mandolin; more use of open strings and partial chords -- at least that's how I go at it.

There are quite a few Romanian-built instruments sold in Europe. Consensus seems to be: all solid woods (a plus), no frills, not great "fit and finish," cheap-o hardware. At that price, about what you'd expect.