Thread: Playing with others of different skill levels

Default Playing with others of different skill levels

I play bluegrass and folk-type music, and I'm fortunate to live in an area where there are plenty of jamming opportunities.

The skill level of the other musicians runs the gamut from beginner to professional. I've been playing mandolin for about 4 years (guitar for many more). I have a few fiddle tunes under my fingers and my chop is coming along nicely.

If I'm in a jam with mostly beginners I'm often led astray when the timing is off. When I lead a song, I can usually drive it pretty well.

If I'm with a group of advanced players, it can be demoralizing when I can't keep up. My playing falls apart and I'm often exhausted at the end.

Both extremes seem to be detrimental to improvement.

Any thoughts on which type of situation I maximize my time with? Thoughts on handling each situation?

Default Re: Playing with others of different skill levels

Generally, if you play with people who have better skill sets, you will be inspired to improve your own skill set. I find that if I feel like I am being dragged behind in a jam it will motivate me to practice more, and yes, it is frustrating, but the more you play the better you will get. But pushing yourself to improve isn't a bad thing.

I also realize that playing with those who cannot keep time is frustrating. if these are individuals who are interested in improving their skills, then it might be best to discuss the timing issues with the group. If they are just folks who are content with just getting through the tunes, then maybe it's not the group for you.

Realize that there are some people who get to a certain level with their playing and advance no further. They are pretty much content with what they can do. Sometimes you just outgrow those situations, and it's ok to revisit these groups occasionally, but a steady diet of it can be pretty frustrating.