Thread: Banjo solos /mandolin

Default Banjo solos /mandolin

Hello, hope I can get some ideas here, I’m a rockabilly/country guitarist, singer songwriter, I’ve noticed in last year or 2 my songwriting is developing more towards old time country
    And bluegrass.. I’m about to go into the studio to record 6/7 new songs, I’d say 3 of them are straight bluegrass, I, pleased with them, however, I’m taking total novices into this situation, very good musicians, and capable, I have a young fiddle player who just loves this style but knows nothing about it, is there any set rules about soloing/? Banjo first, mandolin second, ? When I’m singing a verse should the mandolin just be ‘clunking” etc? With violins putting in the odd note?
    I’m really curious about this, any rules, or set things I need look for? My guitarist can play banjo good, but he has nylon strings on there, I’m sure that’s not good?
    Also can any old country fiddlers please give me some good advice for my young fiddler?
    Thanks
    Howard

Default Re: Banjo solos /mandolin

If you're trying to emulate somebody, listen to their music. If not, do as you please.

For your young fiddler, I'd suggest listening to older fiddlers, Kenny Baker, Chubby Wise or Vassar Clements couldn't hurt.
    Not all the clams are at the beach

Arrow Manouche
    Arrow Jazzbo
    Arrow G
    Clark 2 point
    Gibson F5L
    Gibson A-4
    Ratliff CountryBoy A