Thread: Mandolin for absolute newbie

Default Mandolin for absolute newbie

So recently, after struggling with the size of a guitar hurting my back and shoulder to learn to play, someone recommended I try out a mandolin for size. Luckily enough, my local library has an instrument loaning program and actually has a couple of them.

I've had it sitting here for a week or so, and have managed to put in practice time almost every day, and have had no back or shoulder problems (forearm and hand problems yes, but I think that's just muscle use). and I'm LOVING the sound.

The loaner from the library is a Epiphone (not sure the model) and I don't think set up very well, but its good enough to be enjoying.

My wife has given permission to look into buying my own, but my budget is really tight. maybe 300 bucks Canadian in total. I want to get something that's not going to be frustrate me into giving up, but I dont' want to lose my stride by having to go a long period without access again.

Locally, the only instruments I'm seeing are a Denver A style for 150 and an epiphone for 280. the rest list at 500 and up.

There are listing on amazon.ca of course, but I have no idea what's any good.

Can anyone give advice for one to pick up for an absolute beginner?

Default Re: Mandolin for absolute newbie

The Denver is not an instrument I’d recommend, being made most likely of white wood laminate. The Epiphone would be much better. It probably has a solid top at least, with the rest being laminate. An even better choice would be an all solid wood instrument. The Kentucky K-150 is a great beginner choice. All solid maple and spruce. The Classifieds here have a used one with case for 350 US.
    Don

2016 Weber Custom Bitterroot F
    2011 Weber Bitterroot A
    1974 Martin Style A

Pittsburgh Bill
    Blog Entries