Thread: Book disappointment

Default Book disappointment

I said in my previous post that I'm a newbie to mandolins and trying to gather as much info about building before I ever start. After reading a few positive reviews online, I bought the "The Mandolin Project" which turned out to be a big disappointment.
    My main criticism is that it is advertised as having full size plans in the back of the book, but when I looked there was only a reference to the author's website to download a pdf of such plans. There were no links on the website for such downloads, and even if there had been, I don't have a large enough printer to print them. Who does? Most people have a4 printers. The same applies to the advice to cut the small plans out of the book and enlarge them.
    Secondly, I thought the photos in the book were not of great quality.
    Needless to say I returned the book for a refund, and bought the Siminoff book instead, which does have some quality plans in the back.

I am only writing this post as a warning to other newcomers looking for such a book. If you're after plans, I don't recommend it.

Default Re: Book disappointment

Hi Mikey,

It is a shame you didn't contact the author. Mr. McDonald would have been a great source of information for you in addition to his book, and would have provided you with electronic access to his plans. It is then a simple matter to take them to a local print shop and have them printed up.

I have found this book to be informative, useful and interesting. I also found it a real bargain for the amount of information I got out of it. Mr. Siminoff's book is also very informative and useful but very different from Mr. McDonald's book. I am glad I have both.

Best wishes for a successful build,

Bob
    Purr more, hiss less. Barn Cat Mandolins Photo Album

3. The following members say thank you to Bob Clark for this post:

I started with the Siminoff book (in an earlier form than currently available, but largely the same content).