Thread: waverlys

I just put some A style waverlys on my bouzouki. But in order to line up the screw holes that were already there I had to just switch the left ones with the right ones. So the problem is now i have to turn the nobs the different way from what im used to on my other instruments. The simnoff book actually has shots of the gears above the tuners too.
    Now Can this affect the tuning machines , or the performance of the tuning machiines?

2. Would you if you were me simply drill eight new holes to install them on the right side?

Somehow I doubt the machine cares whether its deemed to be backwards or not.
    if knob turns the capstan smoothly enough, its doing its lifes work.

writing about music
    is like dancing,
    about architecture

I'm not an expert, but it seems to me that there are some mandos that are set up that way.. I doubt it would be a problem.
    Karen Escovitz
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Otter OM #1
    Brian Dean OM #32
    Old Wave Mandola #372
    Phoenix Neoclassical #256
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    If you're gonna walk on thin ice, you might as well dance!

I think the issue that is raised here is that Waverly tuners have a different hole diameter and spacing than most "modern" tuners. My understandng is that they are designed to be replacements for vintage tuners, even though they are excellent on a new mando, albiet overpriced.

The spacing is the same as modern tuners, the bushing size is different. I'd like to see waverlys with the worm gear on the other side of the post, an 18:1 gear ratio, and slightly concave posts so that the strings wind on easier. Oh, and a lower price.