Thread: Big Frets on The Loars

Default Big Frets on The Loars

Happy Thanksgiving weekend folks!
    I am very new to the mandolin world. I have only played a Loar 310 and a 1914 Gibson oval A with very small frets.
    I am thinking about getting a Loar 600 or 700. The only way I can try them out is to play a 520 at GC. Those frets are HUGE. Is this fret size really out of the ordinary from other Mandolins?
    Thanks,
    Nick

Default Re: Big Frets on The Loars

You will meet people in both camps. Large frets are not necessarily traditional but alot of modern players prefer them. I've found that I can like mandolins with either. To me, radiused fretboards and neck shape make more of a deciding factor. FYI, my mandolin has large frets and I am very happy with them.
    Stiver F5 #366
    Kopp K-35 Braz
    Huss & Dalton TD-M Custom
    1935 Martin 00-17
    HD-28E Retro

The Loar 520 is very similar to the mandolin I have. I have The Loar 500 VS.

I don't understand what you mean by very small vs huge frets. Are you talking about the spaces between frets or the size of the actual metal bars, the frets themselves. I do not notice anything different between my The Loar and anybody else's mandolin as far as reach or the size of the metal frets. I have noticed that the fit and finish of this mandolin isn't super great, and one example of that is the edges of the frets will catch on a towel. The scale length is 13-3/4", which is pretty typical. I don't know that much about the other one you have played but perhaps its scale length was significantly shorter and you were able to perceive the difference.

I have instruments with both. Generally speaking I find the shorter the scale the thinner the frets. I say this because the difference comes down to who does the setup and how well they crown the frets.