Thread: Kentucky KM-505 vs Loar LM-600

Post Kentucky KM-505 vs Loar LM-600

Newbie here! I have been interested in mandolins for quite some time and recently decided I'm going to pull the trigger. I have researched a few and read through some old posts comparing different models. There are a couple I was looking at. One is the Kentucky KM-505 and the other is the Loar LM-600. While the Loar is a beautiful F style I want the one that will sound the best, and be better long term.
    What are the pros and cons of each? Also if it makes a difference: I do have smaller hands.
    Thanks for your help!

Default Re: Kentucky KM-505 vs Loar LM-600

I’m sure others will join in soon enough, but I’ll start the ball rolling.

First and foremost, whichever mandolin you end up getting, make sure it’s properly set up by an experienced luthier or a store that offers quality set-ups as a part of their service.

I’ve played a few The Loars and, in my opinion, a KM505 is better.

Thanks Johnny! Yes, they are both lightly used and being sold because they don't get much play time. I checked with both owners and they were each set up with by stores that are reputable and have great reviews on this site.

there are, of course, other things to consider. Is your heart totally set on an F style, or will an A scratch your itch? You get more “bang for your buck” with an A, as those scrolls cost more money.

The KM 505 has a more slender neck than any The Loar I’ve ever played. The Loars have really chunky necks. The 505 has a slightly radiussed board with smaller frets. The Loars have flat boards with larger frets. Some people are fine with either, but I personally prefer a radius - it’s just more comfy my hands. But that’s me.

Good luck with the hunt!