Thread: High frets on mandolin.

Default High frets on mandolin.

I've mentioned this before,but I'm a long-term guitarist and novice mandolin player. I've been playing for around 3 months now and I've noticed something, and it's something I noticed around 8 years ago when I tried another mandolin: the upper frets are essentially unusable. My Breedlove had 20 frets, but my Loar LM400 I had in the past had 29 frets, which seems insane in retrospect. I don't fully recall everything about it, but I do remember getting nothing more than a full tink. On the Breedlove, I have a similar effect past the 14th fret. Is this normal? Is there perhaps a technique to probably get the sound from the high fret?
    Last edited by DrDizzleFrizzle; Nov-06-2019 at 4:51am.

Confused... or?
    Over the Hudson & thru the woods from NYC

Default Re: High frets on mandolin.

Maybe some clearer description would elicit some useful response. A wide number of factors, in the instrument, in your fingers, or in your technique, could be involved.
    - "Essentially unusable" doesn't really express why YOU think that is the case.
    - "Full tink" ???

FWIW, Lloyd Loar seemed to think that classical musicians needed over 2 octaves on the high strings, but maybe that's part of why his F-5 design didn't initially appeal to classical musicians, or to much of anyone else.

(Edit) Another point of confusion:
    "High frets", in the title, most often refers to frets that are higher above the fretboard than the adjacent frets. You are asking about frets that are higher up the neck than the more-often-used ones. Maybe just this comment will elicit some response from those with expertise?
    Last edited by EdHanrahan; Nov-06-2019 at 10:24am.
    - Ed

"Then one day we weren't as young as before
    Our mistakes weren't quite so easy to undo
    But by all those roads, my friend, we've travelled down
    I'm a better man for just the knowin' of you."
    - Ian Tyson