Thread: New picks - Flow, Wegen, Primetones

Default New picks - Flow, Wegen, Primetones

I picked up a couple of guitars and dropped off a mandolin at the Mass Street repair folks. While there I bought a few sets of picks, some already familiar to me (Dunlop 1.5mm small triangle Primetones, which I've been using for about six months) as well as some new styles- Wegen TF140 and Dunlop Flow 1.5mm picks. I tried both the new styles and liked them both, lol. Each had a nice feel and different but still nice sound. It seems like I used to be more tied to a particular pick, but at the moment it seems like I can use any of four or five different kinds of picks and still be quite happy!
    Doug Brock
    2018 Kimble 2 point (#259), Eastman MD315, Eastman MDA315, some guitars, banjos, and fiddles

2. The following members say thank you to Doug Brock for this post:

Default Re: New picks - Flow, Wegen, Primetones

Don’t know how I missed this. I’m sure there isn’t a person out there who doesn’t have a jar full of picks bought and rejected at little expense. Now however, we have BlueChips and Red Bear and all kinds of boutique brands tha make for much more expensive experimentation. But just yesterday I tried a new to me product called Picker’s Grip, and it came with two cheap celluloid picks. I picked up the heavy pick and played away with no problem whatever. I currently use BC, Wegen, and Primetones, all of which are different, and all of which I can easily use.

Thickness is a far greater importance to me now. I guess I choose BC as my favorite, but can play fine with anything. I just don’t want another jar with thirty dollar rejects in it.
    Silverangel A
    Arches F style kit
    1913 Gibson A-1

4. The following members say thank you to Br1ck for this post: