Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Mandolin ToneRite on guitar?

  1. #1

    Default Mandolin ToneRite on guitar?

    Anyone ever use the mandolin size ToneRite on a guitar?

    Just wondering if it might work.

  2. #2
    Moderator MikeEdgerton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    40.1646 N, 74.2083 W
    Posts
    24,262

    Default Re: Mandolin ToneRite on guitar?

    Probably a good number of people wonder the same. Give it a try it's certainly not going to hurt it unless you drop it on the top or something like that.
    "Bargain instruments are no bargains if you can't play them". These are the words of J. Garber.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Mandolin ToneRite on guitar?

    Ordered one,a 3G, for mando yesterday. Will give it a go and report back later.

    Never used one before. Had to find out for myself. I reckon they can be set at different frequencies?

    Thanks,MikeE.! You musta heard whata klutz I am.(I did manage to drop/crack a pristine F4...so,there's that.)

  4. #4
    Moderator MikeEdgerton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    40.1646 N, 74.2083 W
    Posts
    24,262

    Default Re: Mandolin ToneRite on guitar?

    I drop things all the time. Take my word for it.
    "Bargain instruments are no bargains if you can't play them". These are the words of J. Garber.

  5. #5
    Registered User j. condino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Asheville, NC
    Posts
    2,089

    Default Re: Mandolin ToneRite on guitar?

    Snake oil does not discriminate between intruments.

    Just park your guitar next to your home audio speaker.....

  6. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to j. condino For This Useful Post:


  7. #6
    Moderator MikeEdgerton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    40.1646 N, 74.2083 W
    Posts
    24,262

    Default Re: Mandolin ToneRite on guitar?

    Just wondering if it might work.
    Probably a good number of people wonder the same
    I was trying to be polite.
    "Bargain instruments are no bargains if you can't play them". These are the words of J. Garber.

  8. The following members say thank you to MikeEdgerton for this post:


  9. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Columbus, GA
    Posts
    1,283

    Default Re: Mandolin ToneRite on guitar?

    I used a mandolin Tone-Rite on my Blevins octave which is considerably larger (10" total length) than the Breedlove mandolins I usually play. I attached it between the bridge and tail piece. It worked just fine.
    David Hopkins

    2001 Gibson F-5L
    Breedlove Legacy FF; Breedlove Quartz FF
    Gibson F-4, (1916); Blevins Octave Mandolin, 2018
    McCormick Oval Sound Hole "Reinhardt"
    McCormick Solid Body F-Style Electric; Slingerland Songster Guitar (c. 1939)

    The older I get, the less tolerant I am of political correctness, incompetence and stupidity.

  10. #8

    Default Re: Mandolin ToneRite on guitar?

    I had one for guitar that I used on my Mandolin too.

  11. #9

    Default Re: Mandolin ToneRite on guitar?

    [QUOTE=V70416;1738842]Anyone ever use the mandolin size ToneRite on a guitar?

    I tried it and was not happy with the way it sat on the strings SO....I bought another Tone Rite for a mando and love it. I really think it has helped my Weber Gallatin A/F style.

  12. #10
    Perpetually Confused
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Location
    Columbia, Md
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: Mandolin ToneRite on guitar?

    Just to add my two duckets, vibration is vibration, I would imagine. If the top is moving, it's going to be doing the job.

    For what it's worth, I own the guitar version, and it did wonders to an all hog Martin I bought new. Really opened it up! Never tried it on my mando, because it was already many years old when I bought it, was happy with the sound, so didnt want to mess with it.
    ===================

    Collings F5
    Goldtone MG6 Mando Guitar
    Too many guitars to list: Mostly Martin and PRS
    European Upright Bass
    Some Uilleann Pipes

  13. The following members say thank you to Aldwyn for this post:

    V70416 

  14. #11

    Default Re: Mandolin ToneRite on guitar?

    I have tried the Mandolin ToneRite on my acoustic guitars and find that although it first appears to hold between the strings, once turned on it will vibrate itself down to the bridge and become significantly louder to the point of being annoying. I don't know if it has a detrimental effect on the guitar or the effectiveness, but I would prefer to use a guitar specific version on guitars.

    That said, I just posted my Mandolin ToneRite for trade for a Guitar ToneRite in the classifieds section, if anyone is interested.

  15. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Columbus, GA
    Posts
    1,283

    Default Re: Mandolin ToneRite on guitar?

    Quote Originally Posted by bradeasley View Post
    I have tried the Mandolin ToneRite on my acoustic guitars and find that although it first appears to hold between the strings, once turned on it will vibrate itself down to the bridge and become significantly louder to the point of being annoying. I don't know if it has a detrimental effect on the guitar or the effectiveness, but I would prefer to use a guitar specific version on guitars.

    That said, I just posted my Mandolin ToneRite for trade for a Guitar ToneRite in the classifieds section, if anyone is interested.
    Before you liberate your ToneRite, try it between the bridge and tailpiece. That's the way I did it with my octave and it worked great.
    David Hopkins

    2001 Gibson F-5L
    Breedlove Legacy FF; Breedlove Quartz FF
    Gibson F-4, (1916); Blevins Octave Mandolin, 2018
    McCormick Oval Sound Hole "Reinhardt"
    McCormick Solid Body F-Style Electric; Slingerland Songster Guitar (c. 1939)

    The older I get, the less tolerant I am of political correctness, incompetence and stupidity.

  16. #13

    Default Re: Mandolin ToneRite on guitar?

    Quote Originally Posted by DHopkins View Post
    Before you liberate your ToneRite, try it between the bridge and tailpiece. That's the way I did it with my octave and it worked great.
    In this case, my acoustics are all flat-tops, so no bridge to tailpiece section of strings. Also, I no longer have any mandolins, so no need to hang onto it for that reason either.

  17. The following members say thank you to bradeasley for this post:


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •