Thread: Grace Design BiX vs. Red Eye

Default Grace Design BiX vs. Red Eye

I've been using a Red Eye Twin happily for years on numerous gigs. I play mandolin and guitar. On my Pedaltrain Nano I also have the TC Body Rez pedal (verdict still out) and a Earthquake Device Dispatch Master (reverb/delay) powered by a Cioks DC5.

For mandolin I turn the treble on the Red Eye all the way down and get a very good sound from my K&K. For guitar I turn treble all the way up and get a decent sound from the K&K in my guitar but sometime not enough treble.

I'm intrigued by the two band EQ on the Bix. Anybody have experience with both units and care to share their opinions?

Thanks

Default Re: Grace Design BiX vs. Red Eye

Same with my K&K equipped guitars and mandolin when using the RedEye: treble down on mando, treble up on guitar. When using the Grace Felix I leave the treble nearly flat on both instruments. But unfortunately do I have no experience with the Bix, but I would suggest that it performs like the Felix in this particular subject.
    Dunno if that helps a bit.
    Collings MF 5
    Brentrup M 23 V (for sale on reverb.com)
    Gibson F 2 (1917)
    L. Smart H 5 Mandola
    Gibson K 4 Mandocello (1921)
    Sobell 10-string Bouzouki
    Sanden 8-string Bouzouki

guitars, banjo, dobro, weissenborn

Interesting, I have no experience with the Grace, but on the RedEye I have the treble all the way up for guitar, all the way up for one mandolin, and half or better for the other mandolin. It sounds terribly dull with it down and mine aren't bright with the treble up half or better.
    THE WORLD IS A BETTER PLACE JUST FOR YOUR SMILE!

Quote Originally Posted by pops1 View Post
    Interesting, I have no experience with the Grace, but on the RedEye I have the treble all the way up for guitar, all the way up for one mandolin, and half or better for the other mandolin. It sounds terribly dull with it down and mine aren't bright with the treble up half or better.