Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jam etiquette

Default Jam etiquette

I'm a newbie to jams and also a beginner mandolin player. I've gone to a couple local jams and they are very welcoming to beginners and encourage you to take your turn and not pass around the circle. I'm comfortable playing rhythm and singing and have told them I am in no way ready to take a break yet. Sometimes they still want to give it to me and I have to wave them off and reiterate that I'm not there yet. But my question is how do you give out breaks when you don't really know who wants to take one (don't know the other players well enough yet). They are all good players and probably most could take a break, even if they don't know the song but I don't want to presume (I only pick very common songs also..."Bury me beneath the willow" and such). I look to make eye contact and line up someone but thats hard when I'm also trying to sing and play. What woukd you suggest? I thought about saying, " I'm gonna do X song in G, does anyone have a break?". What would you do?

2. The following members say thank you to Bunnyf for this post:

Default Re: Jam etiquette

How does everyone else in that jam do it? I would follow the lead of the regular players. But jams have all different etiquette, some just go around in a circle, some pick and choose with a wink or a nod, you just have to watch.
    Not all the clams are at the beach

Arrow Manouche
    Arrow Jazzbo
    Arrow G
    Clark 2 point
    Gibson F5L
    Gibson A-4
    Ratliff CountryBoy A

Blog Entries

In a jam, all a person should need to do is shake their head if they don't want a break. It isn't like a person has to avoid eye contact.

Often if I'm jamming and don't want a break, I'll also tell the next person in line -- either verbally or by body language -- to be prepared if they want the break; otherwise that next person gets a surprise and half a break.
    -- Don