Thread: Schertler Preamp Review

Blog Entries

Default Schertler Preamp Review

Hi, Everyone:

I'm very happy to write a brief but much needed review of my Schertler pickup/preamp journey tonight.

I played a gig earlier with a friend - a duo - and I tried out my new gear for the first time since having all of it. For the gig, I amplified my mandolin with a DYN-M, which I ran into a Schertler Yellow preamp, which I was able to split into a BOSE S1 s a monitor and the soundboard.

It was a great success. I've been using Schertler DYN-M pickups for about 10 years, and this is by far the best tone I've gotten for the last decade. The preamp didn't change the overall complexion of the DYN-M's tone, which is a good thing seeing as the DYN-M is a respectable reproduction of the natural tone, but the preamp did give me some boost in a few different ways, including in phantom power. I could adjust how much phantom it was putting out or something. The preamp also reduced some low end tubbiness and stabilized the mid-range, thus helping make the tone a more accurate representation of my mandolin's natural tone.

It's still a pick up, so it's ultimately not the natural tone of the instrument, but it's got the essence of the natural tone, and the preamp gives more control over what goes out into the mains. I'll add, using he S1 as a monitor with the DYN-M and the Yellow is like a dream. The S1 sounds so good. It's an expensive monitor system, but man it sounds awesome.

I'd say if you're looking for a dreamy mandolin pickup, preamp, monitor rig the DYN-M, Schertler Yellow preamp, and the Bose S1 is spiritual good. It's not a cheap trifecta, but you could pay a ton more for something else that’s good and I have hard time believing it would be a ton better.

I'll update more when I get a better understanding of everything the rig can do, especially the Yellow, as there are some interesting knobs on it that I don't understanding right now.