Thread: Tab Software

Default Tab Software

Hi Folks!

Beginner here, progressing happily into my second month with my Mando! I'm thoroughly enjoying playing every day, and I've finally got the finger strength and calluses to do a few light bends and practice for more than 20 minutes

I'm trying to learn a few reels, and it seems to me like it would also be a good opportunity for me to learn musical notation while I'm at it. I'm already comfortable with tabs, soo.....

I was wondering what you folks like to use for writing your own stuff on a PC. I'd really be interested in something that I can write in tab, then transpose to standard musical notation (and probably back again. TablEdit looks good and I see that there is a large collection of songs in .tbl format on this site under the Learn/Listen section.

If anyone has any other suggestions, or a heads up regarding any quirks or pitfalls, I'd sure appreciate it.

Cheers!

Default Re: Tab Software

+1 TablEdit.
    Not all the clams are at the beach

Arrow Manouche
    Arrow Jazzbo
    Arrow G
    Clark 2 point
    Gibson F5L
    Gibson A-4
    Ratliff CountryBoy A

I also recommend TablEdit, I use the tefview app to convert abc files to tab and notation on a daily basis, check out the session.com for a ton of celtic stuff. I dont read standard notation very well so being able to convert things into a mandolin tab helps me greatly

4. The following members say thank you to Cú Chulainn for this post:

Musescore.org is my favourite but I no longer have a computer so there are some features that I don’t have while using my ipad...

What I’m looking for is a simple virtual mandolin or fiddle fretboard where I can touch different places and it will write out notes as text (for use in .abc files) or something similar, a then play it back to confirm that I’ve got the timing written correctly.

Though a free .abc player will almost do that.