Thread: Opera singer guitarist in need of help

Default Opera singer guitarist in need of help

Hi everyone. I work as an opera singer and have a Don Giovanni coming up next year. I’m quite accomplished on the classical guitar (more than 20yrs playing) and am wondering if you could help me out in terms of buying a mandolin for the famous Canzonetta. The director has asked me to sing and play which sounds loads of fun.

Looking for advice on what mandolin to buy, type/make etc. Want something above just a true beginners one but not mad crazy expensive. Older looking is best...

Teacher, repair person

Default Re: Opera singer guitarist in need of help

If you are speaking of the aria with mandolin accompaniment, and you are going to be singing the aria, you will find it very difficult, if not impossible, to play the accompaniment well while you are singing. Take a good look at the mandolin part and you will see what I mean.

I have played the mandolin part in the orchestra while the singer used a prop mandolin on stage. I used a Martin flat-top mandolin, which was miked and put through the house sound system. A bowl back mandolin would be the most appropriate looking stage instrument, but it is unlikely that such a mandolin would have the carrying power to be heard by the audience, even if you could successfully play the accompaniment while singing the aria.

If you get an Aria (brand) mandolin, then you could sing the aria and play the Aria............

Sorry, hard to resist a setup like that.....................

This guy had a similar dilemma

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	18ACC24B-275F-42EA-972F-3C28928CFE8C.jpeg 
Views:	188 
Size:	250.4 KB 
ID:	179743