Thread: Help with rhythm

Default Help with rhythm

I am getting some feedback from my jam mates about mandolin playing and rhythm. Based on everything I have read/heard it seems to be a consistent message that the mandolin player’s role when playing rhythm is to chop on the second and fourth (“back”) beats. I work diligently on this including playing along with backing tracks and also using a metronome, not at the same time of course. If I record myself either playing with a backing track or a recording of me playing melody it sounds ok to me ( I am a 62 year old beginner). However the banjo and guitar guys continue to want something more than that. Again, all references I have indicate chop on 2 and 4, downstrokes only. Am I missing something here?
    Thanks

Default Re: Help with rhythm

Here are some cool rhythms. Try these with a metronome as chops, but also as single note patterns and arpeggios.
    Good luck!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	32 Strum patterns UKE n SONG TABS.pdf 
Views:	372 
Size:	26.3 KB 
ID:	179559

Remember be careful, some of the jalapeño thyme, rosemary, cinnamon, propolis and cloves rhythms -you do NOT want to play in certain situations.
    Last edited by Simon DS; Sep-06-2019 at 2:59am.

3. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Simon DS For This Useful Post:

Cool patterns, leads me to ask or want to verify, the bold arrow is the chop? What is the upstroke, a light chord or a chop? How do you chop a down stroke and up stroke so quickly, it seems in some cases that would be tricky. Of course I don’t even know if I chop correctly. I tend to hit the chord like normal then lighten my fingers right after the initial attack to mute it abruptly but that might be a different technique. Is that a valid chop?
    My avatar is of my OldWave Oval A

Creativity is just doing something wierd and finding out others like it.

5. The following members say thank you to John Bertotti for this post: