Thread: G(I) chop to 3 or 4-finger D(V) chop?

Default G(I) chop to 3 or 4-finger D(V) chop?

I’m a beginner but can hold the dreaded G chop shape ok. When I practice chopping a I-V progression, I almost always go from the four-finger G (7523) to the 3-finger D (745x) by shifting the whole G shape up the neck 2 frets and over one string (i.e., fretting with index, middle, and ring, and freeing my pinky). But I’ve been playing along with the Pete Wernick Bluegrass Jamming DVD (second volume), and I notice that Eric Walser typically shifts from the 4-finger G to the 4-finger D (7452), keeping his hand in the same part of the neck but flipping his index, middle, and ring fingers). His way looks SO much more ergonomic, but dang, that finger shuffle sure is difficult for me! Since this is probably the most important chord change (right?), I’d like to learn how to do it the “right” or “best” way. Do most people do it the way Eric does it, with the finger shuffle? Should I keep working at that, or is my way of shifting the G shape up the neck and over a string just as good?

Default Re: G(I) chop to 3 or 4-finger D(V) chop?

When you just go I-V its easiest to stay in the same neck position, although it may take a while to get comfortable with that. Look at some other pro's playing and I'll bet that most stay in the same position. But there will be exceptions.

You can always practice A-E to get used to the shape in a easier to finger position.
    Not all the clams are at the beach

Arrow Manouche
    Arrow Jazzbo
    Arrow G
    Clark 2 point
    Gibson F5L
    Gibson A-4
    Ratliff CountryBoy A

3. The following members say thank you to Bill McCall for this post:

The Amateur Mandolinist Mark Gunter's Avatar
    South of Cleburne, North of Hillsboro, Texas

Check out the fifth video on this page from Pete Martin: http://www.petimarpress.com/mando%20tips%20videos.html
    WWW.THEAMATEURMANDOLINIST.COM
    ----------------------------------