Thread: Stewmac Upgrade kits

Default Stewmac Upgrade kits

No mandolin content yet.

Stewmac is advertising these "upgrade kits" for Squires and Epiphones.

https://www.stewmac.com/browse/Fender_Upgrade_Kits

https://www.stewmac.com/browse/Epiphone_Upgrade_Kits

I like the concept. Take the inexpensive brands from a major manufacturer and pretty much sell the difference in hardware to bring it closer to the higher end product offered by that company.

Can mandolins be that far behind?
    "It's comparable to playing a cheese slicer."
    --M. Stillion

"Bargain instruments are no bargains if you can't play them"
    --J. Garber

2. The following members say thank you to MikeEdgerton for this post:

Default Re: Stewmac Upgrade kits

Well, the biggest single contributor to an electric guitar's sound is a set of decent pickups, where the biggest sound contributor to a mandolin is quality wood and good build quality. I've been modding and building telecasters for many years. I haven't had a factory built guitar in several decades. I long since learned that if I bought bodies and necks from USA Custom or Warmouth, pickups from the likes od Fralin or Lollar, and hardware from Glendale, I could build as good as a tele type guitar gets for around $800, and a pretty darned good one for $500. I'd say sound contribution is 90% pickups, 10% everything else. So replace cheap bridges, plastic nuts, pickups and pots will yield a big sonic improvement.

So take an MD 305 or 315, and what can you do? They already upgraded the tailpiece, so you could get new tuners, yielding no sonic improvement, maybe get a new nut, and a Cumberland Acoustic bridge. Small improvement for money spent. Get a professional installation of nut , tuners and bridge, and perhaps a fret level and crown, and you'd be within view of a used A style that would floor you.